Insanity

He Told me
That his feelings
weren’t as deep as mine
as I remember thinking
Damn he’s shallow
But, Still said nothing
drifted yet instead
to my lonely place
I laid there frozen
being held by empty arms
Arms that belonged to his hollow
shallow shell
protected by the brick fortress
he built around himself
out of the drama of past relationships
And I wished that I could run.
But, the fear of being alone
sleeping alone
living alone
DYING
Alone
pulls me back into the arms
and frozen heart of this broken man
my fear of loneliness
Just won’t let me walk away
I have been here before
Same dance
to a different song
with a different partner
Took me five years
To break free of him
But yet and still here
I am again
The frame still the same
just the picture has changed
and I wonder
Just what
has made my brothas
so damned afraid of commitment
simply around for the fun
But, never the responsibility
So, I lay here
In his arms
Telling my heart
I Love Him
But my heart is screaming
What about me?

©2014

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.